New Reply
Subscribe
shaolinsoul
25th March 2009
Old 25th March 2009
Gear Head

Getting that gritty analog sound.

Hey guys,

Ive been making techno/electronic music for about two years now strictly on FL Studio (and a ton of vst's) and an RS7000 from the arraging to final mixdown stage. Im always finding out that a lot of my mixdowns are sounding a lot like other producers (i.e. very clean and dry) especially at the club and want to find how to get it to have more punch.

here is an example of a "sound" i am trying to emulate.

YouTube - Suburban Knight - The Worlds

Im interested in how to "warm" up my sound and can only see analog outboard as an answer here in particular an old sampler or fx unit that can give me that raw texture in the sound I want.

So what are some essential outboard gear that can give the sound some color while arranging and mixing in the DAW?

thx.
25th March 2009
Old 25th March 2009
Lives for gear

Send a message via AIM to The Architecture Send a message via Yahoo to The Architecture
to my ears it sounds very digital some of the sounds, like sampled, the most analog thing would be the TR909. It doesnt sound that great plain, it needs processing to make it sounds better, like compression. I think the secret was they recorded on Reel to Reel, probably prosumer stuff my guess, im not sure.

If you want that sound, get a cheap tape machine, like a old Tascam 32b, and have fun!
26th March 2009
Old 26th March 2009
Lives for gear

This is where we've got to, super clean soft synths generated inside a DAW with no noise or distortion whatsoever unless you add it in on purpose. It's a totally different overall sound, even if your choice of synth sounds is close.