Login / Register

16 bit to 24 bit Conversion???
New Reply
Subscribe
pedestrian47
31st July 2007
Old 31st July 2007
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

16 bit to 24 bit Conversion???

to anyone who knows...

I posted this question in another thread but nobody responded, I figured I'd try this forum since it is mainly the type of music I make...

I am fairly new to digital recording and my first few projects were created at 16 bit...I have since switched to 24 but have a few questions concerning my earlier work. I use Cubase 3 and have been told that I can convert my 16 bit projects to 24 by going to the Pool and converting format...my question is- once I convert the audio in the pool is the project automatically 24 bit (assuming I switch the audio format in the preferences or project set up window)??? I have tried this on one project and when I am in the Pool it gives me 3 options: delete and replace, create new and leave the old, i am not sure what the 3rd one said but when I converted the audio foramt it would only let me creat new and not delete what was there before...once the new 24bit audio is created do i need to specifically select it to use to make the project run at 24 bit? If anybody understands what I am asking and has the answer I appreciate your help.

Thanks,
-A

if you r interested in hearing the projects at 16 bit unmastered go to

www.myspace.com/thebiddingwar
31st July 2007
Old 31st July 2007
Gear addict

hi,

can you use them as there are even in a 24bit session without conversion ?

There will be no quality rise once you stemed your files to 16bit, so no need to convert them, imho.
31st July 2007
Old 31st July 2007
Gear maniac