Login / Register
 
Gear Porn thread - pics of your slutty setups
New Reply
Subscribe
Deleted User
#4411
29th February 2012
Old 29th February 2012
  #4411
Deleted User
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoozer View Post
Most of all it serves as a lesson to me that this would make me go completely bonkers. It must get awfully hot in there when everything's switched on
yeah, I thought of that, but I took some precautions>
- the most important is that my main big screens are LEDs now (as opposed to LCDs)... I gained at least 6 degrees of coolness by implementing this change (a tad costly though, but worth every dime... more healthy in every way... LEDs rock). The woman wants to throw me out to the streets with my 6 old LCDs that I have procrastinated about selling (I guess that would gain me 10 additional degrees of coolness on winters :P)...

- I also have an acceptable room cooler. It's reasonably silent. It also has a quick "mega cooling" function, which gets on during breaks when needed (this one's noisy, hence only on breaks for a few minutes)

- I can honestly say I managed to get a good room temperature in the few ocassions where everything is running (advanced projects), which is 25 - 28 Celsius. It was the damn LCDs frying me before.

Quote:
The FX-only laptops are a really excellent idea!
Probably you don't need any further tips on this, but some might be interested in knowing that KORE is acceptably syncable via MIDI clock from your main DAW. Running "sequenced" fx with Reaktor on HW synths is simply a pleasurable mayhem really... but again, the most important part is that you can do all this mayhem while jamming in real time. This is key for truly inspiring results. My entire studio is like a gigantic modular synthesizer in many ways, and you don't have to commit to recording and applying effects later, which is sometimes an obstacle in inspired electronica production... Instead, you design chord/note progressions AND its [awesome itb] effects together as a whole design process... game changer technique for me, and took me a while to figure out how to make it ALL as efficient as reasonably possible.


thanks for the comments, Yoozer, you should know you are my favorite gearsluttiness theorist in these places




.
Deleted User
#4412
29th February 2012
Old 29th February 2012
  #4412
Deleted User
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by fragletrollet View Post
I`d be totally overwhelmed with so much gear. Its setup great tough, but I wonder how the reflections/acoustics are in your room...
And so much gear, but still using Yamaha HS/KRK Rokit monitors? I guess dont fix it if it aint broke (If you get great mixes on them), but other than that, I just really enjoy the sound of my Focals way over any lower-end monitor I`ve heard.

Thanks for the pics and explanations! Interesting read.

My friends says my place looks like a spaceship, they should only have known...
cool man, appreciate the comment.
I see what you mean about the potentially overwhelming number of options; however, it's all about planning and serious study.
Imo, when people say they can handle only one synth and one seq, that's very respectable, but most of the time they confuse their actual abilities with their comfort and lazyness, and so they are in fact choosing to limit themselves and their sound pallete.

My work re my studio was mostly to get passed my own comfort (I used to be a lead singer for a long time; it can't get any more comfy than that), and to create a sound pallete as diverse as possible BUT to make it work like one entity. Easier said than done.

The extra work now is mostly about turning the stuff on, which takes a few seconds with [tip] the multi-switch power strips. I know my gear and what does what. (I just took an 8 month no new gear starvation period, to refine my knowledge of the stuff I already own for this purpose; no expert yet, but thanks to that I am better equipped in terms of knowledge of my gear for my purposes now... a never ending task if taken seriously)

About reflections and acoustics, this is a topic that really needs a lot of education among non-mastering engineers, non-mixing engineers, ie, producers/composers, and so people should learn to make their own informed decisions and trust their ears and techniques.

Basically, MOST reflection and acoustic issues vanish by you turning the darn volume knob down!!! That's only needed when mixing!! When producing turn the ****ing thing up and make your sound so powerful and loud that your butt explodes in moves to the beat on its own while in the bliss of your powerful sound! (ok, but you get the picture, lol) Leave the acoustic problems to mastering engineers or pristine-recording facilities... I never pretended mine was one. Feck all that!... I am an experimental electronica composer/producer... My main job and focus is to get truly and honestly passionate about what I am producing... **** anything else if that's not happening, including "acoustic ANAL retentiveness". LOL

That said though, there's some basic acoustic treatment in place, EQing at the last stage, 3 sets of decent monitors for comparison, etc... The final mix of my albums is not something I want to do or should, but definitely direct. Mastering in my project studio is also out of the question. I mean, you have to be down to earth, and let others contribute.

The fact is that if someone REALLY wants to get purist about acoustics, that person should be ready to spend dozens of thousands of euros in acoustically isolating and purifying their studios' environment. This is not fun, and I rather spend 20 thousand in improving my gear or travelling the world and buying beer to my friends than wasting my time on a half ass task that the woman would assasinate me for. I would probably do it with unlimited funds, but I rather spend a few hundred bucks paying a pro mixer (that works under my command and based on my draft mix) than over 20 thousand in professionally treating my project studio (I mean professionally, not some ****ing 100 dollar foam cube in some corner). Rather, it's all about the fun and creative process here. Acoustic purity and isolation is interesting but simply not worth my while for my purposes.


I have listened the Focals, great monitors, but too pricey for what they do. Again I preferred to spend that money on 3 sets for different sound perspectives. Great monitoring systems are nothing without a PROFESSIONAL facility, which most project studios simply are not... It's a dogma thing that most people buy into due to lack of self confidence. People go and spend 1000 or 2000 on overpriced foam cubes, instead of learning to ****ing turn the volume knob down... go figure...


Of course, I am not talking about you personally... I don't know, maybe you own Real World Studios-like facility... I am talking in general from actual experience and well studied preference.



EDIT: hahaha, I wrote a bible. Sorry.

.
Deleted User
#4413
29th February 2012
Old 29th February 2012
  #4413
Deleted User
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdgh View Post
don't want to pay your electricity bills!

next to that i share the opinion of fragletrollet.
besides that... this much gear would be too much for me personally. probably i'll be stuck for 2 hours, cause i can't decide what to use

conclusion : respect for your setup!
cool man, thanks much.

if interested, I shared some of my thoughts above re fragletrollet's comments. I don't disagree with what he's saying, but rather sharing my perspectives behind my decisions on the topics he mentioned

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaticpark View Post
@m127c
some nice equipment and an impressive computer setup!
although the overall setup makes me feel claustrophobic. personally i need some space between my stuff.
but that's just me, not my intention to diss your place! I'm sure it works great for you, that's the most important part.
Thanks man, I understand what you are saying but what would cause you claustrophobia was a goal here. Honestly, if u take a look at other studios in this great thread, you will notice how in some of them, the operator would need to stand up and walk 5 meters, bend over under another synth and reach with the full legth of their arm just to tweak a knobby synth and then back to their sequencer and then back and back and back...

I mean, what's the fun in not having your gear nearly simulating body extensions!! But OK to disagree with this philosophy. It comes down to preference OR planning and organization.

I have plenty of room to stretch, etc., though. The pics probably don't help realize that.

Now, if I had unlimited funds, I'd probably create a contiguous chilling room with bar facilities, and expand my room at least 1 meter outwards, not to add space between me and my gear, but to create space behind the gear and so that it would become easier to make modifications more often.

So you are making a good point! No dissing taken!

But hey, we also have to be grateful and happy with what we have and not recur to pipe dreams too often!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Others View Post
m127c very impressive room.
cool hombre, thanks so much.

I wish online collab tech was more advanced, so that I could share my stuff and production abilities more easily in collaboration with people elsewhere in the world.

Not sure if it happens to you all, but most local people are just boring or stupid or ignorant, and it's not easy to find REALLY interesting partners to create some cool sounding stuff with... compared to the really smart, compatible and knowleadgeable people you can find online.

There's a number of slutz here, for whom I would kill to share my studio with so we could create awesome music together...
This is not a pipe dream, and I feel based on the state of the related technologies that it will become possible [to collab online in an efficient manner] very soon...



.
clusterchord
Thread Starter
#4414
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
  #4414
Lives for gear
 
clusterchord's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,364

Thread Starter
clusterchord is offline
m127.... wheeeeeew god, i remember it was impressive even before, but you really went full out now...




so, two things id really like to ask.. first can you tell me what graphic setup/card do you use on your main DAW so you can run all these LED TVs.. and multimonitors (i presume some kind of eyefinity setup but..) ?

im only on two 24" led monitors and a iPad2 im about to implement, but am thinking about going out to at least one LED TV.. for client to see the picture/movie on the wall..


and i'd love to hear some of your stuff.. do you have some kind of link/web or myspace etc?



thanks
__________________
.




WTB: Qu-Bit Nebulae • ALM S.G.B. • Tip Top Studio Bus

FS: Waldorf Q blue kbd v32 • Maxon Vactrol Phaser • ADAM P22A monitors • Kenton Pro2000 mkII
Deleted User
#4415
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
  #4415
Deleted User
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally Posted by clusterchord View Post
m127.... wheeeeeew god, i remember it was impressive even before, but you really went full out now...

so, two things id really like to ask.. first can you tell me what graphic setup/card do you use on your main DAW so you can run all these LED TVs.. and multimonitors (i presume some kind of eyefinity setup but..) ?

im only on two 24" led monitors and a iPad2 im about to implement, but am thinking about going out to at least one LED TV.. for client to see the picture/movie on the wall..


and i'd love to hear some of your stuff.. do you have some kind of link/web or myspace etc?

thanks
My pleasure to answer your questions:
I actually run Nvidia videocards.
I have 4 Nv 9800 GT running on a EVGA Classified mobo (4 PCI Express slots)
Tips:
- Make sure to always use the SAME videocard model for your multi-videocard setup. They can sync better this way and are less likely to cause performance hicups due to potential lack of proper sync and otherwise different drivers. Same driver = same issues = solve one = solve all.
- You don't want super powerful videocards (they consume a lot of power, for one thing).
- Be wary of the form factor if using more than two: most later videocards occupy 2 slots... not good if you want to expand later on...
- If you are happy with your 2 monitors, and just want a larger LED TV to mirror one of them, you just need 2 videocards; you just setup one of them 24's to be mirrored by the LED

I have been working on a long play for a looong time. I am kind of too creatively ambitious or greedy to put it somehow. This is good [better results generally] and bad [takes longer to get satisfied with your own work, and longer to consider that something is presentable due to self-criticism]. I don't want to show work in progress and rather wait. I do have many past productions, but they belong to the past, which I want to unrelate to... Nonetheless, I will appreciate some fb from you once I am ready to showcase some of my work... Will let you know.


Salud man, and don't hesitate if you have other questions/comments...






.
#4416
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4416
Gear addict
 
incurablebeatlus's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 472

incurablebeatlus is online now
Nice set-up and some interesting comments as well. I agree ergonomics are paramount! Also like that you aren't caught up in having the worlds most accurate acoustics in your roo, ut just go for vibe instead, Bravo! Of course there is a happy medium to that, but too often on here people are waaayyy to concerned with a perfect room/reflections/etc for a creative space...
#4417
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4417
Lives for gear
 
drumdrumdrumdrum's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 888

drumdrumdrumdrum is offline
More pics - less talk
#4418
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4418
Lives for gear
 
deft_bonz's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4,887
My Recordings/Credits

deft_bonz is online now
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumdrumdrumdrum View Post
More pics - less talk
here a close up

#4419
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4419
Lives for gear
 
erikdrink's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Bjerkedalen
Posts: 1,994

erikdrink is offline
Great man!
#4420
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4420
Lives for gear
 
waveterm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,935

waveterm is offline
Gear Porn thread - pics of your slutty setups-img_0859.jpg

wt
#4421
2nd March 2012
Old 2nd March 2012
  #4421
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 159

saxmeister is offline
LOVE the Waveterm! Nice pic.

One little pic of my pretty low-end set up. I like the sounds, though...
Attached Thumbnails
Gear Porn thread - pics of your slutty setups-419917_10150707526012780_686262779_11375047_793100561_n.jpg  
__________________
"To be a great producer, music has to be a big part of your soul. And when it comes to making music, if I could invent a way to get it from my heart into yours, without doing all that hard work, I would be very happy" - Brian Wilson
#4422
3rd March 2012
Old 3rd March 2012
  #4422
Gear Head
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 44

Diao is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by waveterm View Post
Man that is ****ing rad.

No goofy GUI, just exactly what you need to get the job done. Wicked.

#4423
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
  #4423
Lives for gear
 
gordonmerrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Atlantic Rim
Posts: 638

gordonmerrick is offline
I posted this elsewhere, but it makes more sense here. Here's a 'shopped compilation of the main racks (it's just missing the AirBase99 that lately slid in between the Liberation PS and the U220):
#4424
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
  #4424
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 730

mijome07 is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by saxmeister View Post
LOVE the Waveterm! Nice pic.

One little pic of my pretty low-end set up. I like the sounds, though...
Nice setup. Did you replace the tube in the Art pre? Do you ever overdrive it?
#4425
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
  #4425
Gear Head
 
Bennett Williams's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 57

Bennett Williams is offline
Well, I got me a Trailer Trash pedalboard and I put my looper & other goodies on there, wired with George L's, Powered with Voodoo Labs Digital & ISO-5. Here ya go:





#4426
4th March 2012
Old 4th March 2012
  #4426
Banned
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 607

Ausgeno is offline
My current setup, Minibrute and Minitaur are both preordered. Still nowhere near as well equipped as most of you guys though.



Quote
1
#4427
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4427
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 2,570

boon is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ausgeno View Post
My current setup, Minibrute and Minitaur are both preordered. Still nowhere near as well equipped as most of you guys though.

but no one else has a baby in the studio

cute.
#4428
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4428
Telling it like it is
 
ionian's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2010
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 3,958

ionian is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by boon View Post
but no one else has a baby in the studio

cute.
When you need crying on a track, Analog always sounds better than a sample.

Regards,
Frank
__________________
My equipment: A Commodore 64, 2 1541 Disk Drives, Dr T's Music Studio and a Casiotone CT-460.

www.frankperri.com

Never listen to opinions regarding gear. For every 50 nobodies on Gearslutz that say a piece of gear doesn't sound good enough to cut it, I know at least one somebody who is cutting it in NYC with that piece of gear.

Remember kids, Gearslutz is for entertainment purposes only.
#4429
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4429
Banned
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 607

Ausgeno is offline
Lol, that's my sound engineer - if she isn't crying then I know my track needs more bass or treble.
#4430
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4430
Lives for gear
 
Eric J's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: The Lagrange point between Jupiter and Io
Posts: 1,699

Eric J is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by boon View Post
but no one else has a baby in the studio

cute.
Sometimes I do.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ionian View Post
When you need crying on a track, Analog always sounds better than a sample.

Regards,
Frank
I actually sampled some of my sons little rattles and toys. Makes great percussion.
#4431
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4431
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 743

slippast is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by boon View Post
but no one else has a baby in the studio

cute.
I have two of my own. The older they get the worse their tone...it makes no sense to me.
#4432
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4432
Lives for gear
 
NWSooner's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,569

NWSooner is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by slippast View Post
I have two of my own. The older they get the worse their tone...it makes no sense to me.
Try replacing the op amps.
clusterchord
Thread Starter
#4433
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4433
Lives for gear
 
clusterchord's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,364

Thread Starter
clusterchord is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleted Userc View Post
My pleasure to answer your questions:
I actually run Nvidia videocards.
I have 4 Nv 9800 GT running on a EVGA Classified mobo (4 PCI Express slots)
Tips:
- Make sure to always use the SAME videocard model for your multi-videocard setup. They can sync better this way and are less likely to cause performance hicups due to potential lack of proper sync and otherwise different drivers. Same driver = same issues = solve one = solve all.
- You don't want super powerful videocards (they consume a lot of power, for one thing).
- Be wary of the form factor if using more than two: most later videocards occupy 2 slots... not good if you want to expand later on...
- If you are happy with your 2 monitors, and just want a larger LED TV to mirror one of them, you just need 2 videocards; you just setup one of them 24's to be mirrored by the LED


thanks for the info. yeah each identical PCI cards sounds logical. well im using one if the ATIs with dual DVI on the x16 port, one of DVI is doubled as HDMI. and then theres a double display port that supports several monitors on top of this. my plan was move one of my 24" from DVI to DP (as its a DP monitor), and hook the LED TV to HDMI. and get three streams total (div, hdmi, dp). all great in theory, buy i cant get the DP to work no matter what i tried. dunno if its ATI or HP that aint working. (both are active, real DP devices. not passive ones in need of active adapter etc)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleted Userc View Post
I have been working on a long play for a looong time. I am kind of too creatively ambitious or greedy to put it somehow. This is good [better results generally] and bad [takes longer to get satisfied with your own work, and longer to consider that something is presentable due to self-criticism].
yeah i can relate... i get frustrated bcs tho im rather efficient when working for other ppls projects/deadlines, i take forever, or never, when i do projects for myself. its a psyhological barrier. and of course its never really "finished". haven't figured out a way to cheat myself into thinking im working for someone else with hard deadlines, when doing my own thing. now that would be perfect.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deleted Userc View Post
I don't want to show work in progress and rather wait. I do have many past productions, but they belong to the past, which I want to unrelate to... Nonetheless, I will appreciate some fb from you once I am ready to showcase some of my work... Will let you know.
no prob, you're welcome to send some stuff, when you decide to
#4434
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4434
Lives for gear
 
gordonmerrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Atlantic Rim
Posts: 638

gordonmerrick is offline
Baby in the studio represent:

#4435
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4435
Lives for gear
 
erikdrink's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Bjerkedalen
Posts: 1,994

erikdrink is offline
Looks great, here is mine!

#4436
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4436
Lives for gear
 
gordonmerrick's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Atlantic Rim
Posts: 638

gordonmerrick is offline
erikdrink: nice! cute kid.
#4437
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4437
Lives for gear
 
erikdrink's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Bjerkedalen
Posts: 1,994

erikdrink is offline
Thanks! You can see that the tempo knob on the 707 is missing!? You can guess why...
#4438
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4438
Gear maniac
 
lunaticpark's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: berlin
Posts: 225
My Studio

lunaticpark is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikdrink View Post
Thanks! You can see that the tempo knob on the 707 is missing!? You can guess why...
That's the problem with the OTB-kids, maybe you should go ITB
#4439
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4439
Lives for gear
 
erikdrink's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Bjerkedalen
Posts: 1,994

erikdrink is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunaticpark View Post
That's the problem with the OTB-kids, maybe you should go ITB

Hehe, yeah maybe! I'm only worried that one day he will find a pen and start painting all over my Tube-Tech;(
Then I WILL go in the box man!
#4440
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
  #4440
Lives for gear
 
Eric J's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: The Lagrange point between Jupiter and Io
Posts: 1,699

Eric J is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikdrink View Post
Thanks! You can see that the tempo knob on the 707 is missing!? You can guess why...
See, that's exactly why I bought one of those Argosy consoles. Need to keep little fingers away from the gearz...
New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn  Submit Thread to Google+ Google+ 
 
Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter / Forum
Replies
James Lugo / So many guitars, so little time!
351
STF / Electronic Music Instruments & Electronic Music Production
64
sarza73 / High end
2
RichT / So much gear, so little time!
14

Forum Jump

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.