which Drum machines sound the best
New Reply
Subscribe
fastlane
26th February 2006
Old 26th February 2006
Lives for gear

which Drum machines sound the best

I know I know, real drums are best. I am a drummer myself!

Here's the thing, I've started recording drums last in my sessions!! Unconvensional but hear me out.

Most drummers find it hard to play a full song in perfect time. In fact, unless they are very used to playing with a click track then they'll drift in and out time like a cheap casio watch. If the drummer doesn't do his job then the whole song will suffer. So I insist on using a drum machine at the start of the day. I map out the basic drum beat on using Cubase Midi Tracks (one for each drum, kick, snare, hats toms and crash) and use Reasons Drumkits 2 as my sampler. Then I just mix down a stereo mix so the band can use it as a guide track.
Only takes 10 minutes to do.
Once the band have a perfect drum track to work with the guitars, bass etc go down in no time. A quick take on the vocals as a guide and then I start recording the live drums. I find drummer keep time much better when playing along to perfectly in time music.

If the drummer is still having problems then I just re-program the midi files so they are doing exactly what the drummer is trying to do. Then mix down each midi track as a seperate audio file so I can use different VST's on each drum, then a bit of room ambience on the drum Group channel and we have a real sounding kit.

Just wondering am I the only nut that works this way????

Anyway, I do like the different kits that come with reason drumkits 2 but I'm sure there are better drum machine around. If anyone has a definitive answer please let me know.

By the way, if you want to hear what the Reason Drumkits 2 sounds like in a mix then check out http://www.fastlanestudio.net/samples.htm. Have a listen to Population you - Oldest Tricks Newest Tools
Leman - Tonight
Leman - Show me