Drums & Cymbals Specifically for Studio Recording
Pronecobra
4th April 2009
Old 4th April 2009
Gear nut

Question Drums & Cymbals Specifically for Studio Recording

I am putting together a project studio and my main focus right now is on drum sound. I am an alright drummer and it is a high priority for me to get good drum sounds. My early 90s Pearl Export kit is OK, but not great. Also, my brass alloy cymbals blow.

I want to know what drums and which cymbals would be the best candidates for the studio?

Obviously there is some subjectivity when it comes to drum & cymbal sounds, but there must be some specific characteristics that make for desirable studio drums & cymbals.

I can say that I like a dry and relatively tight drum sound and dark cymbal tones. I have always liked the Zildjian K series (not the custom, but the plain 'K' cymbals . . not sure if they even make them anymore, I only ever see the Custom K's).

I also recently purchased a Orange County Drums & Percussion Maple Snare drum, a 7" x 13", 7 ply that I like a great deal, although without a bottom mic used it can start to sound like a small tom!

Also, since my drums & cymbals are intended for studio use, I suppose they should have an agreable & versatile sound to please varying tastes (although my taste is the most important).

I am also obsessed with snare sounds; it is so important to a song for me. I have noticed that my heroes usually have at least a few snares on deck. I think I would like to have at least three snares to choose from to meet various needs (mostly in the indy rock vein).

What types (material) and sizes of snare drums should every studio have? I already have a maple 7"x13". I also have the metal snare that came with the Export kit, it looks to be about 14" X 5.5" or 6" . . . I have yet to get a good sound out of this thing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

P. Cobra
Prone
5th April 2009
Old 5th April 2009
Lives for gear

lets start with snares: