New Reply
Subscribe
Anna Stoic
16th June 2013
Old 16th June 2013
Gear nut

Gobo construction

First of all, I am very new to this.

I don't want to build a "room" here. The space is perfect as is. I record acoustic guitar and voice and I need to knock down the ambient noise that trickles in, especially from my really large window. For now, I want to try gobos.
I just did a test with a very crude gobo (merely a moving blanket hung over a clothes rack) and the mics in their usual position recording the ambience.
When the gobo isn't there the predominant ambient note is C# (approx 140Hz).
When I place the gobo between the window and the mictophones, the predominant ambient note moves down one whole note, to B (approx 123.5Hz).
When I add another moving blanket with space between them, the fundamental frequency is not affected but there is much less higher frequency noise.
That all makes me very happy because it means there might actually be a solution for me.
This is the question: I have decided to make a frame for Ultratouch and use it in the current structure. There's a couple of ways I can approach it:
Hang one 3.5" layer full length to the floor.
Hang two 3.5" layers with an air gap of 3-4" in between them. Not that much harder to do.
Is there any benefit to that?
If I'm stuck with the B I shall change my songwriting to reflect that, with the city of Los Angeles ommmmming along incessantly.

AS
17th June 2013
Old 17th June 2013
Gear Guru

I don't think a gobo is the best solution for noise passing through a window. Usually a "plug" made of a solid material that covers the window without any air leaks is better. Can you post a photo of the window?

--Ethan

The Acoustic Treatment Experts
19th June 2013
Old 19th June 2013
Gear nut

Thanks for the reply Ethan. The window is massive: 190" w x 84" h
Not going to attach a photo since a plug is out of the question, thought about how I could do that but it's more trouble than I am up for.