Standing Wave Treatment
New Reply
Subscribe
Mike.C
28th February 2013
Old 28th February 2013
Gear nut

Standing Wave Treatment

Hey guys! This will be my first post I'm an acoustics noob so please bare with me.

My mix position seems to be in the peak of a standing wave at around 130Hz. If I play a 131Hz sine wave while sitting, it's quite a bit louder compared to other frequencies (C notes stick out like a sore thumb) and when I stand up it almost disappears. If I stand on my toes I can hear it again. It's because of this I've come to the conclusion that it's an axial mode between my floor and ceiling. My ceiling is roughly 2.5m high and the width of the room is roughly 4m.

I don't have any bass trapping in my room at the moment (other than a queen sized bed in the back corner and 2 small couches if that counts) and I'm thinking of building two panel bass traps from rock wool and hanging one from the ceiling above the mix position and one closer to the front wall at an angle.

Am I in any way going about this the right way? If so how thick is thick enough and how much space between the trap and the ceiling is space enough?

Thanks in advance to any replies
28th February 2013
Old 28th February 2013
Gear maniac

Ceiling will help...
Use rockwool....as deep as you can...
don't take the fluffy one use higher density...
28th February 2013
Old 28th February 2013
Lives for gear

First; identify the areas related to your modal issue:

Need help to tune my control room. (First Measures Included)

Your initial guess is probably correct, but why not dubble check. If tangential or oblique mode; you might find more or better areas to treat.

Then treat relevant areas using appropriate treatment options (pressure based or velocity based depending on if the area in question is an early reflection point or not and depending on the acoustic response desired) effective in the same frequency range as the modal frequency of interest.
28th February 2013
Old 28th February 2013