Placement of Bass Traps when no neat Corners
Old 3rd December 2012
Gear interested

Placement of Bass Traps when no neat Corners

Hi,

I've recently purchased some acoustic tiles and bass traps to treat a very small room (W210cm, L210cm, H250cm).

The ceiling corners of the room are rather awkward and the bass traps i have purchased (60cms in length) are too big to position without any space being left behind them or, in the case of one corner, imposing on the doorway!

I've taken some pictures which are below to help give you an idea of the situation.

Picture 2 seems like the least troublesome one to deal with. I expect I should just trim down the bass trap to to not encroach on the air conditioning unit...?

I'm quite new to this and i'm unsure if I should be aiming for some kind of symmetry in the placement and size of my bass traps in the corners of this room. Given how these corners all present different issues, I'm unsure achieving any kind of symmetry will be possible.

Really hope someone can give me a bit of guidance here :-)

Corner 1 - Distance from ceiling to 1st edge is 37cm. Sticking out from main side wall by 16cm.

Corner 2 - Air conditioner housing 51cms down from the ceiling

Corner 3 - Above the Door (which would be behind my right shoulder, when facing my monitors). The door frame is about 18cms down from the ceiling and it sticks out a couple of cms. The sticking out bit at the top of the adjacent wall is 37cm in length from ceiling to edge.

Old 3rd December 2012
Gear addict

Oh dear "Unclebob", I am afraid whatever you do to this room it is not going to be great, two main reasons:- it is really too small and the geometry is too square, in fact it's almost a cube, which is about as bad as you get! Just take a look at the Room modes on one of the many "theoretical calculators" out there, you will see what I mean!!

Do you have means to measure the room with Room EQ Wizard (...it's free) to verify the problems??