New Reply
Subscribe
eugenedent
13th May 2012
Old 13th May 2012
Gear interested

Help with recording space set up

Hi guys,
I have been reading this forum for quite long time, and I really wanna say thank you. There's a lot of great information!

I am pretty new to the art of recording, so I would like to ask experts.

What I have is a weird-shaped small room. I attached my drawing with measurements. Room is 8 ft high, has carpet floor, non-covered painted dry wall and "popcorn" ceiling. There is a built-in wall closet on the left by the entrance door (not a walk-in closet) with a sliding double door. There are two windows at 135 deg. angle to each other. I can move desk. Wall cabinets are attached to the wall, but it can be moved if necessary.

My main instruments are bamboo flute (approximately, same range as tenor recorder) and Native American flute. I don't plan to record drums or bass.

What I have in mind is to place 3-4 Roxul panels on the walls (purple color on the drawing), 4" Roxul gobo (green color), Roxul cloud right above the mic.

My questions:
1. Does it make any sense?
2. Do I need to place something between mic and entrance door?
3. Any suggestions in terms of set up?

I will do the room study, but it will take me some time to learn the software and how to use it properly…

Thank you
Eugene
Attached Thumbnails
Help with recording space set up-plan_4.jpg  
14th May 2012
Old 14th May 2012
Gear Guru

You are going to need to move around the room and figure out the best area where it sounds good to you. Don't forget that the ceiling is a also a source for reflections.
http://www.gikacoustics.de (German Translation)
404 492 8364 (USA)
+44 (0) 20 7558 8976 (Europe)

Built in Slat design (Scattering/Diffusion) on all Bass Traps click here
eugenedent
15th May 2012
Old 15th May 2012
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Kuras View Post