My Big Soffit Trap Results
New Reply
Subscribe
pleventi
5th March 2012
Old 5th March 2012
Gear interested

My Big Soffit Trap Results

I've (finally) started to add accoustic treatments to my 11.2 HT room. In this post, I'll share the results of adding two large soffit/bulkhead bass traps (16x18" Roxul Safe N Sound, 28 feet worth) to the room. Both quantitatively and qualitatively, the results were very noticeable -- but a little disappointing when it comes to <100 Hz.

Me
I'm a computer engineer, and tend to fall into the "if I can't measure it, it's probably in my head" camp, plus I only care about measureable differences that actually are noticable qualitatively. I'm a minimalist when it comes to speaker wires, power cords, etc. But I've seen enough evidence posted here and elsewhere that accousitc room treatment can make a major difference. I've read a lot of threads here and elsewhere, as well as the Master Acoustics textbook. I'm no expert, but I've learned a little bit.

My Room & System
The room is roughly 15x17x12' (irregular) room in basement, used primarily for home theatre use -- nearly 100% movies. You can see irregularity of room in photos below. There is a 4' wide hallway that opens into the room; I may eventually go all-out to make the perfect HT room by closing this off, but for now other functions and asthetics/light rule out that possibility. The room has laminate-over-concrete floors, drywall-over-studs-over concrete on three sides (with standard insualtion), and the only absorptive elements in the room (for now) are a leather sofa and a small area rug in front.