avare
8th November 2011
Old 8th November 2011
Lives for gear

Sound Speed In Porous Absorbers

In this thread amongst other things;

Quote:
Originally Posted by prairiedog
I'm really not an expert in this area but if you're interested in what's happening inside a porous absorber, you probably need to take into account the fact that the speed of sound is less than that it is in air. This has two significant effects. Firstly, the wavelength is reduced. Secondly, the angle of incidence is reduced. I'm not going to quantify these effects but I would expect them to be important if you're trying to locate maximum particle velocity inside a porous absorber. Perhaps someone else can throw some light on this subject?
Great points Demetris. I find amazing how ignorant people here are of the speed of sound adiabatically versus isothermally. One of the most famous examples of the evolution of physics is Newton's misunderstanding of this and calculating the speed of sound from first principles. His error was using an isothermal model instead of adiabatic. Knowledge that is 4 centuries old.

In addition to the skewing of the angle of progression in the porous material, Snell's Law also comes into effect at the appropriate angles.

If acoustics was simple, god would not have created aspirin.

Andre
9th November 2011
Old 9th November 2011
Gear Head

Great idea for a thread. This is something I'd like to learn more about.

I've done some reading and have discovered some things which I find very surprising. Perhaps I've misunderstood something. Either way, I would appreciate comments from Andre and/or other experts on this forum.

As I understand it, the speed of sound in air at room temperature is around 344 m/s. This is under adiabatic conditions. Inside a porous absorber at low frequencies, conditions are isothermal. This should result in a speed of sound which is lower by a factor of approximately 1.18 if no other factors come into play. This would give a speed of about 291 m/s.