Gearslutz.com - View Single Post - Beware of EBAY SCAM
View Single Post
Old 9th March 2004   #1
robchittum
Gear interested
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: North East Tennessee
Posts: 16

Thread Starter
Send a message via Yahoo to robchittum
Beware of EBAY SCAM

Hey folks,
I'm on a mission. There is a guy or more than one person that is listing all kinds of stuff on ebay that would appeal to us gear sluts. He is a fraud, and I know because I caught him in several lies today. He is currently using the username "montellamusic" and is listing a Sony DMX-R100 among other prized pro audio pieces. Here is a link to the stuff he's currently selling

http://cgi6.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...sort=3&rows=50

Now, it gets more complicated. This guy offers I-escrow, but a close inspection of the escrow website that he insists on using is another scam that was set up by him. Also, he previously had an item posted under another users ID, which included all of her positive feedback. Had I not asked the seller a question through the "ask the seller a question button" I would have never known that he had stolen her ID. So, it seems that ebay is a dangerous place to look for audio bargains now days. My advice is to contact the seller to confirm that they have an item listed and to use a reputable (REAL) escrow service before purchasing anything big. Anybody with common sense should be able to see that this guy is a scam (only been listed as an ebay seller for 1 day, keeping the high bidder list private, no feedback, using only manufacturer pics and descriptions instead of photos of actual used items etc), however I think we would all like them to be real and get a great deal. Just thought I would share this with my friends here at Gearslutz. Best wishes.

Rob dfegad Ebay Thieves
__________________
"You may not always get what you want, but you always get what's coming"
robchittum is offline   Reply With Quote